Our Board of Trustees and the Principal continue to develop and encourage a positive and stimulating atmosphere and are proactive in ensuring the community voice (of students, parents and all other external stakeholders) is maintained at the highest possible level.

Since the schools opening, the Board and Principal have worked together to transform the Board of Trustees’ vision for education into a highly effective schooling model. In our fifth year since the evolving of Tarawera High School, the school is now ready to move into the stage of embedding the paradigm shifts that have taken place in these initial stages. Ethos, culture, expectations, and MANA are now set and this next phase of the schools life is to build on these factors and allow growth and development among both staff and students.

Our current Board members are:

Ebony Tipene
Board Presiding Member

Helen Tuhoro
Trustee & Principal
Ko taku tūranga ko te Tumuaki o te kura tuarua o Tarawera. I am honoured to oversee staff and students in our beautiful new Modern Learning Environment for Year 7-13. I was appointed as the foundation Principal when the school opened in 2013 and thoroughly enjoy the challenges and opportunities that life brings, as we prepare our future leaders to face the 21st Century with confidence and self-determination.

Sidney Waiari
Student Trustee

Matt Sheaff
Staff Trustee
Kia ora, I’m delighted to be Tarawera High School’s Staff Board Trustee. I have only been at this school for a short period of time but my heart is in this place. Both my grandparents raised their children in Kawerau and my parents attended the college many years ago. I was born and raised in Tāmaki Makaurau (Auckland) but recently made the move down to the Eastern Bay of Plenty. I am looking forward to serve this school and make a difference in the lives of young tamariki here.

Nicky Nuku
Kia ora. My name is Nicky Nuku and I decided to stand for the BOT as I have a genuine passion for the students at Tarawera High School. I am the Attendance Advisor for all of the Kawerau schools, and I’m heavily involved in Kawerau Bluelight

Rachael Savage


Jeneane Chandler

Carol Dyer

Continuing Consultation

We continue to request the community to take an active part in establishing Tarawera High School’s identity and the establishment of our new school site. We began our building consultation process with our staff and students in 2013 and extended this out to the community to feed back to us what they see as the needs of their tamariki. 

Feedback from the many community consultation hui saw us gathering views on the new school design, input was collected on Positive Behaviour for Learning, Cultural Competencies of Tataiako and Curriculum content for junior and senior courses.

Focus groups were used to collect data from individuals to ensure engagement and consultation in the process of reviewing: 

  • PB4L – Developing our expectation of M.A.N.A.
  • Tataiako – Cultural qualities and what does success look like to whanau.
  • New Curriculum – Seniors – integrated courses.
  • New Approach – Juniors – inquiry and key competency based.